Spring!

Happy April! I have put off updating because I don’t have much to show, but I decided I should at last be doing monthly updates to keep myself accountable.

Since my last update which I believe was at the end of February, I have been taking quite a lot of photos, but have frequently been coming home and looking at them to find that none of them had turned out as I hoped. Discouraging but all part of the process. At this point I am shooting on manual mode almost all of the time and am having fun becoming more familiar with what works and what doesn’t.

Here’s a random assortment of what I’ve done recently:

IMG_0641

On the drive from Stockton to Ashland. I was just testing out different settings on my camera and taking photos out the window, but thought this one turned out really cool because with the snow it looks almost like a black and white photo.

IMG_0868

Zac in Ashland. I like how all the colors turned out.

IMG_0924IMG_0923

Springtime in Southeast Portland! I was back home for a week for spring break and the flowers are blooming everywhere. These are in my neighborhood.

And… that’s all! Now that the weather is better I think I will enjoy what I’m taking more. I’m excited to start photographing spring in Ashland! It is so beautiful here this time of year.

On a personal note, today is the first day of spring term and also my LAST term of undergrad. This term I’m going to be taking a photography class! I am really excited. I am hoping to work on my digital photography skills and learn to use Lightroom for editing, but we also have a darkroom and I don’t want to miss out on an opportunity to use it since who knows when I’ll have easy access to one again. So I’m excited for whatever I end up focusing on! I did darkroom my first term of college ever, which was almost 7 years ago now so it has really been a while. Anyway, I think it will be a great term and I can’t wait to get started!

April goals:

  • Use my second lens
  • Photograph people/try taking portraits
  • Experiment with Lightroom
Leave a Reply

